the skinflint philosopher

Thrifting your way to a better life

The Marshmallow effect

7 Comments

Skinflintery broken down here into 9 steps (http://moneysavingmom.com/2016/05/9-traits-highly-frugal-people.html) great for those of us who not only like the idea of being frugal but also love lists as well!
Personally, I think number 6 on the list has got to be the one I most want to teach to Tiddler. In our ‘want-it-and-want-it-now’ society, I increasingly see children (and adults) who don’t understand the value of possessions, money or time. Children who shrug off breaking the latest iphone with ‘I’ll just tell my parents to buy me another one’, children who drop litter or don’t clear tables because ‘that’s the cleaners job’… how can we expect the next generation to have respect for their OWN possessions or time, if they don’t respect anyone else’s.
I hope Tiddler can learn she is the mistress of her own destiny, and a little bit of the Marshmallow effect (http://jamesclear.com/delayed-gratification)
will shape her life for the better.
marshmallow
Author: Theskinflintphilosopher

Call me thrifty, prudent, tight or even a miser, but squirreling money away is definitely my thing. The ins and outs of how saving money became a lifestyle, in order to work towards a specific lifestyle change. Follow me on that journey and learn to look at life in a different way.

7 thoughts on “The Marshmallow effect

  1. Delayed gratification is very important!!!! http://minimalistdaily.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s these thoughts that make me reconsider if I want to give birth after all. I first need to unlearn certain things and learn again. By the way, I nominated you for the Liebster award. wonder how you would answer my questions with a frugal way of thinking πŸ™‚
    it’s here: https://minimalistgunluk.wordpress.com/2016/07/26/liebster-award-11-facts-about-me/

    Like

    • I hope I am not putting too much negativity out there about children! I’m a firm believer in ‘nuture AND nature’… the environment we raise them and the attitudes we share with them will guide them, but hopefully in their nature they will have some inherent attributes from their parents too. We shall see how Tiddler turns out when she is no longer a tiddler!
      What do you mean by unlearning if you don’t mind me asking?
      Thank will take a look at that link now….

      Like

      • By unlearning I meant going back to Zero about everything that the society taught us. This is good, this is bad, i want it and i want it ‘now’ kind of thoughts. You are quite right about nurture and nature. So to bring up children that are not affected by consumerist social rules, I think I need to get rid of them myself, and nature will do its job of course, I can’t interfere with that πŸ™‚
        And no, I did not get any negativity from your post! I love children and hope to have a baby in the future!

        Like

      • The trouble is I guess, that no matter what we hope and try to put in place for our children, at the end of the days their peers and the community around them will exert just as much influence I am sure! Equally, we can’t cotton wool them or shield them completely from outside experiences, as that is not preparing them for reality either. A fine balance is needed I think, and the ability to think for themselves about their decisions. Empower them that way I hope!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: “I’d still have the potatoes”: Liebster Award | the skinflint philosopher

Leave a Reply

